Lamentation of Mary Magdalene (from the Aramaic: they have taken away my lord)

In honor of the feast day of Mary Magdalene, I wanted to share a poem I wrote honoring her sacrifices, strengths, and doubts,. This is from my long-in-progress Lamentations series, which imagines Biblical characters in their darkest moments. 

I’ve scraped my palms bloody
trying to roll away that stone, teacher mine,
but it appears the Romans can keep their word after all.

Does my visitation surprise you, Son of Man?
Did you really expect me to wash away your memory like
lamb’s blood from a doorway simply because
I can no longer kiss your calloused hands,
hear the Galilee in your Aramaic,
doze off to the lulling rhythm of your breath?
I thought you better acquainted with my stubbornness, lord.
You are my Sabbath and I will observe you
regardless of how many drink to your death.

Where shall I begin?
Your mother’s been very kind to me;
she makes sure I eat and I ensure she sleeps.
We are bound by blood, she says, bound by
the communion wine which stained us up to the elbows
when we washed and anointed your broken body.
I wonder if she realizes adopting a crossroads-girl from Magdala
will never fill the hole left by a martyr-boy born under the Eastern star.

Peter cannot breathe for missing you,
and John weeps like a woman in labor.
The rest have retreated, drawn themselves into hiding
like sightless creatures blinded by the light of a new day.
It’s as though everything we could have been
gave up the ghost on that tree with you
and now all that’s left are girls with ruined reputations
and boys with scarred fishermen’s hands
staring back at us from cups of bitter wine.

What do you want me to say, teacher?
That your people drink deep from the well of doubt,
that something dark and empty roams the streets at night,
crowing it’s bloody triumph from the temple walls?
That every gulp of air in a world without the promise of you
is like filling my lungs with poison, like drowning alive?
I came to give you word of your people, Yeshua, so here it is.

If ever you loved us,
do not abandon us now when all we have left
are riddles and parables and the hope of a third day.
Do not inflict us with Sheol,
with the absence of you.

 

99 Cent ROBBERGIRL Flash Sale

Hello goblins! ROBBERGIRL has been marked down for 48 hours as part of the I Heart Lesfic spring megasale! There are amazing women-centered love stories in over 40 subgenres in this sale that have been marked down to 1.99, .99, or even free. You’ll never see ROBBERGIRL at a cheaper price, so snag your copy of my dark and sapphic Snow Queen retelling before the sale ends on May 31! 

Robbergirl

AO3 TAGS

  • femme witch with secrets
  • disaster tomcat knife bisexual
  • haunted churches and cursed castles
  • found family telling stories around the fire
  • only one bed in a snowy Swedish winter
  • tilting your enemy-to-lover’s chin up with a knife
  • the power of forgiveness
  • a slow burn to knock you down at twenty paces
  • a historical lesbian love story with, wait for it, a happy ending

Grab your copy for a single dollar before the sale ends on the 31st!

 

Witchy Book Giveaway!

GIVEAWAY

Welcome to October, my bats and goblins! To celebrate the witching season, I’m giving away a book bundle of ✨FIVE✨ spellbinding YA books about witches AND a copy of my occult romance novella, Odd Spirits 🔮. Click the link to enter to win! 

This giveaway is open to worldwide readers. A winner will be chosen at random on October 19th and prizes will ship from the Book Depository! Share to spread the autumnal love, and good luck to all who enter!

Book Review: Odd Spirits by S.T. Gibson

Great review for Odd Spirits from Katie over at Quills And Crystals:

“Odd Spirits is the literary equivalent to dark chocolate. Once I got a taste, I could not put it down. The writing style is absolutely gorgeous, and the story itself is immediately captivating. It was sweet and romantic one moment and brutally honest the next; plus, the paranormal elements made every chapter dark and mysterious in all the right ways.”

If you aren’t already following Katie, get on that! She blog about books, travel, politics, and the intersection of all three topics.

KATIE GILGOUR

40583018Note: I received an advance reader copy of Odd Spirits from the author in exchange for a book review. 

It takes a lot of commitment to make a marriage between a ceremonial magician and a chaos witch work, but when a malevolent entity takes up residence in Rhys and Moira’s home, their love will be pushed to the limits.

Brewing up a solution is easier said than done when your magical styles are polar opposites; throw a psychic ex and a secret society in the mix, and things are bound to get messy.

Fans of The Raven Cycle and The Haunting of Hill House will devour this paranormal romance with a diverse cast of characters!

Like so many other writers I admire, I discovered Sarah Taylor Gibson through social media. When she announced that her novella Odd Spirits would be released this month, I could hardly contain my excitement.

I…

View original post 368 more words

Cover Reveal Coming Soon!

Keep your eyes peeled for an ODD SPIRITS cover reveal this weekend! Looking for a paranormal romance featuring hauntings, folk magic, a multicultural married couple, LGBTQ protags, and a secret society? I’ve got you covered.